Administrative Theory

Administrative theory is another stream of thought in the classical mould. While the concept of bureaucracy was developed by sociologist in a detached, scholarly way administrative theory has been developed since 1900 by practical managers. Though both the schools of thought developed independently, they have many things in common.


Both tend to be prescriptive about organizations and normally emphasise the need for order and orderly procedures, and point to hierarchy, specialization, structure. Order and certainty among others as essential features of organization.


Among the several proponents of the Administrative theory, the earliest and significant contribution came from Henri F Fayol, a French industrialist, in  1916. The 14 principles that capture the essence of the administrative theory could be summarized as follows:


  1. Division of work
  2. Authority and responsibility
  3. Discipline
  4. Unity of command
  5. Unity of direction
  6. Subordination of individual interest to general interest
  7. Remuneration of personnel
  8. Centralization
  9. Scalar chain
  10. Order
  11. Equity
  12. Stability of tenure of personnel
  13. Initiative
  14. Espirit de corps

We will talk on each theory in next post.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: